Book Review: Global Predator by Jack Maclean (✮✮✮)

Global Predator

Global Predator by Jack Maclean

Title: Global Predator

Author: Jack Maclean

Genre: War, conflict, adult, fiction

Publisher: eBookPartnership.com

Pages: 269 pages

Publication Date: 19th June 2014 

My Rating: 3/5

 

Hi there friends,
I don’t like doing book reviews like this one where I feel like I’m being more negative than positive but I have to be honest with this one. The front cover initially attracted me to the book and the blurb sounded interesting. It had a good premise and well rounded characters but just didn’t meet my expectations and left me feeling a bit let down really. Here’s my review of ‘Global Predator’.
I received a copy of this book by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This book isn’t the kind of book which I would normally choose to read. If I saw this book in a library, it wouldn’t be a book that I would pick up from a shelf. Having said that, I thought that I’d give this book a go and it had a great front cover, so why not really? Unfortunately, it really didn’t live up to the initial expectations which I had for the book.Set in Pakistan and England, ‘Global Predator’ tells the story of several characters whose stories interweave at various points. Sally is an English woman whose made it her mission let girls have access to the resources, schools and education which they rightfully deserve in Pakistan. At the same time, the Taliban are intent on just the opposite, they’re bombing schools in order to prevent girls from becoming educated. With banking scandals, avoiding detection and American military and no safety makes Pakistan a scary place to be.

Oh there were so many silly problems with the book. The characters had so much potential, but they were let down by Macleans writing at times. I found it really hard to get into the book initially and it took a while for it to become a bit more well paced. There’s lots of silly typing errors and it just made the whole reading process slower and much less fun. The story at times was predictable, especially the ending.

My reaction at the end of reading this book can be simply summed up by the following gif:
description
Oh the ending was so predictable, it’s really quite sad. I was hoping it was going to get better and it just didn’t.

If you tend to like books about war, fighting and suspense you may well enjoy it. It just wasn’t my cup of tea. However, if this is your cup of tea, you can get yourself a copy from Amazon UK HERE. If you read the book, let me know what you thought about it in the comments!

Happy reading,
Anna x
Leave a Reply

