Book Preview/Review: Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan (✮✮✮✮✮)

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

Title: Apple and Rain

Author: Sarah Crossan

Genre: Romance, contemporary, young adult, fiction

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 337 pages (ebook version)

Publication Date: 14th August 2014 

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,

I’ve just finished reading this fabulous book and couldn’t wait to share my review with you all. A lovely young adult book about dysfunctional families, romance and growing up. I hope you enjoy my review!

I received a free copy of this book by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Apple is a thirteen year old girl living with her grandmother. She doesn’t have many memories of when she was younger, but she can remember the day her Mum left. Each year at Christmas, hope still comes flooding back for Apple but 10 Christmases have past an her mother has still not returned. All of that is about to change. Now her Mum’s returned. But does she really want to see Apple again?

This book was fantastic. It deserves every single one of the five stars I’ve given it whole heartedly. This was an emotionally roller coaster and I became so involved with Apple’s story I found the book really hard to put down. I was enticed by the front cover originally, I fully admit it. Boy did it live up to the brilliant front cover it was given as well. The entire book focusses upon Apple, a 13 year old with harder decisions to make than most 13 year olds. With responsibilities she couldn’t have fathomed before her Mum’s return, her life is flipped upside down.

The writing style at times makes Apple seem older than the Year 8 pupil which she is meant to be. Though with the responsibilities and decisions that Apple is forced to make, this is in keeping with her character. Though Apple faces adversity, bullying and pressure she remains confident, cool and collected. Friends can be found in all kinds of places, even in the back yard.

I loved the poetry aspects of this book. The English teacher in this books has Apple’s English class explore a whole range of fabulous poetry and some of the poems which Crossan has devised are both witty and entertaining really adding to the story. At times it’s sad, challenging and difficult to read but for all of the right reasons. Dysfunctional families are never an easy thing and Crossan tackles this brilliantly. I felt her writing was reminiscent of books by authors such as Jaqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy from my own childhood and really brought some memories back.

A heartwarming book which is definitely worth a read. I really can’t recommend reading this enough!

If you want to grab a copy of Apple and Rain, you can do so from Amazon UK HERE. If you read it, let me know what you think about it in the comments! Enjoyed my review? Hit the like button or maybe even follow my reviews. I hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

