Book Review: Tape by Steven Camden (✮✮✮✮)

Tape by Steven Camden

Tape by Steven Camden

Title: Tape

Author: Steven Camden

Genre: Romance, contemporary, young adult, children’s fiction

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Pages: 363 pages

Publication Date: 30th January 2014 

My Rating: 3.5-4/5

Hi there friends,

I’ve just finished reading Tape by Steven Camden and it was a bit of a mixed read initially. I was drawn to the book by its gorgeous front cover and it wasn’t what I was expecting. Here’s my review:

I received a free copy of this book by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Ryan, a teenager in 1993 begins to record on tapes after listening to tapes of his late mother. Meanwhile in 2013, Ameliah a teenager, discovers remnants of her mother after her passing, recorded on tapes and through her personal belongings. Their two stories weave, intertwine and help to heal their respective wounds.

This book took quite a while for me to really get into. At the beginning nothing really seems to happen and it was really, a bit boring. After a while it did start to get better though and it had a good twist at the end of the book. I found the Camden’s writing style just seemed to be a little simplistic and in my copy of the book there were no speech marks in the entire book. Hopefully this is just as it’s the galley version of the book but nevertheless it was quite frustrating at times.

It was worth sticking through it and reading it in the end, though be warned you have to have some patience with the first half of the book. Fortunately I didn’t read the blurb, I was attracted by the front cover so I wasn’t spoiled by reading the blurb which hints at the ending of the book. It’s funny and the links between the two parallel story lines were done quite effectively.

All in all it was an enjoyable read though it could have done with a bit more pace at the beginning of the book. The book claims to be a children’s book though really it’s quite young adult at times and it’s much more suitable for secondary school pupils than primary.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my thoughts on the book! If you want to purchase a copy of Tape, you can do so from Amazon UK HERE. If you do read the book let me know what you think, this seems to have received some really mixed opinions! If you like my review, hit the like button and maybe even follow my reviews.

Have a lovely day, dream big dreams and enter new worlds,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

