Book Review: Bad Bridesmaid by Portia Macintosh (✮✮✮✮✮)

Bad Bridesmaid by Portia Macintosh

Bad Bridesmaid by Portia Macintosh

Title: Bad Bridesmaid

Author: Portia Macintosh

Genre: Romance, funny/humour, contemporary, young adult, fiction

Publisher: Carina (Harlequin UK)

Pages: 356 pages

Publication Date: 22nd August 2014 

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,
It’s been a while since I’ve read a book which has made people look strangely at me in public, but this is just the situation I found myself in whilst reading this book. It’s hands down the best romantic comedy book I’ve read all year, it’s definitely up there in my favourites too. Here’s my review of MacIntosh’s hilarious book…

I received a copy of this book by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Mia, a successful romance film writer, has left her family behind to pursue her new flourishing career and escape her former life. Living alone, Mia enjoys a somewhat young bachelor style life with no commitments or strings attached. This lifestyle is demanding and at times harsh but Mia loves it. After being called by his younger sister, her former aggressor, and asked to be head bridesmaid at her wedding it seems like things are going from bad to worse. Mia has no intension of settling down at the ripe age of 29 and to be honest, she doesn’t really believe in love, but her family just can’t understand her feelings. Being a bridesmaid is about to completely change Mia, but will the wedding survive with Mia on board? You’re just going to have to read to find out!

This book was absolutely hilarious and I haven’t laughed at a book so much in so long. It was really refreshing and entertaining to read! Some of the incidents that Mia ends up involved with are brilliantly funny and embarrassing. Macintosh has made each and every character witty, interesting and realistic and they all have substance and are important parts of the plot. I’m bursting to talk about some of the things which happen to Mia but I’m keeping my mouth zipped shut, no spoilers!

I’m someone who doesn’t normally tend to read a lot of romance books, though they can be entertaining I’m normally much more into science-fiction and mystery. This just proved me wrong, if romance books can be as fun to read as this was I’ll certainly be reading more in the near future. I really want to read more books by Portia Macintosh as well – deservedly five stars.

A great read which you really need to be reading too! You can grab yourself a copy of Bad Bridesmaid from Amazon UK HERE! If you read it, let me know what you thought about the book in the comments below too. If you enjoyed my review, please like it and consider following my book reviews!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

