Book Preview: Endgame (Sampler) by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton (✮✮✮)

Endgame: The Calling by James Frey

Endgame: The Calling by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

Title: Endgame (Sampler)

Author: James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

Genre: Dystopian, mystery, adventure, young adult, fiction

Publisher: Harper Collins UK

Pages: 75 pages

Publication Date: 16th September 2014 

My Rating: 3.5/5

Hi there friends,

Just a quick warning, I’ve only read a sample of the book so I’ve not read the entire thing! Here’s what I made of the sampler of Endgame. I should also note that as an English teenager, I knew nothing of the scandal involving James Frey before reading this book. After seeing some reviews which simply slated the book just because of the author with no comment on the book’s content, I investigated a bit further. Despite his notoriety, it wasn’t a bad read and I don’t think his name should tarnish this content.

I was invited to read this free sampler by HarperCollins via NetGalley.

This book seemed very similar to another dystopian book which I’ve recently read – The Hunger Games. It had an intriguing concept with some good characters but the sampler didn’t immediately make me want to go and buy the book and read it. The writing was good and it flowed well, the meteors crashing before each player’s selection added risk, danger and tension to the story. Going through each character was a little monotonous, each character’s location, site of meteor crash etc. was detailed before the book really started going.

Though there’s meant to be a kind of code to work out through the book, the intermittent numbers and random letters at times made it a bit annoying and challenging to read. I’m fortunately/unfortunately, however you see it, a bit too young to know about the book which the code was originally based on though my mother understood it straight away. Which got me thinking maybe I’m a bit too young for this… Thankfully the author cleverly put the code at the end of each chapter so after a while I knew when I could avoid the code – mainly as I was pretty sure I couldn’t work it out from just a sample of the book!

The final part of the sampler finally became a bit more interesting, with an explosion on a train which two players are faced with. I’m not going to spoil anything, so that’s all you’re getting. It was gripping and it made the read worthwhile, an interesting concept but lies very close to bordering another version of many dystopian novels I’ve previously read.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this review, if you did please press the like button below. If you wish to read the book, you can obtain a copy from Amazon UK HERE for the full 420 page edition. The full book is not released until the 7th October 2014. If you read the book, let me know what you think in the comments below. If you would like to read more of my reviews, please follow my blog.

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

