Book Review: The Qualities of Wood by Mary Vensel White (✮✮✮✮)

the qualities of wood

The Qualities of Wood by Mary Vensel White

Title: The Qualities of Wood

Author: Mary Vensel White

Genre: Mystery, romance, YA/adult fiction

Publisher: HarperCollins Authonomy

Pages: 370 pages

Publication Date: 31st January 2012

My Rating: 4/5

Hi there friends,

I’ve been trying to catch up on reading the books which I have won over the course of the summer period from Goodreads giveaways. I’ve been exceptionally lucky and through Goodreads First Reads scheme I have won a total of seven books. Along with the NetGalley reads it means I have plenty of books to be reading. I will be continuing to study at university full time in a couple of weeks too so life will once again be full steam ahead! Anyway, where was I! On with the review…

I received a copy of this book through Goodreads First Reads giveaways and I’m really thankful and overjoyed to have won a copy too!

This was a really great book and I loved reading it from start to finish. It wasn’t at all what I was anticipating, Vivian and Nowell have moved into Nowell’s grandmother’s house. After his grandmother’s passing, they intend to renovate the house in preparation for reselling the house and it’s contents. What Vivian doesn’t anticipate happening is the death of a seventeen year old girl practically in their back garden within days of moving in. If this is what country life is like, it’s not too different from the city after all. But was the girl’s death an accident or was there something more going on? This isn’t so easy to find out when everyone seems to be keeping secrets.

White takes you on the mystery of a lifetime, there are so many trails that Vivian begins investigating as a reader you begin to suspect everyone. I had my suspicions from the start of reading the book though and in the end they proved to be correct but I found myself doubting them at several times whilst reading, one of the best things a writer can do in a mystery such as this. In fact it was positively dubious if what I thought would unfold was a correct notion at all as the book drew to a conclusion.

At times, however, the pace does slow down somewhat and becomes slightly distracted from the main focus of the book – the mystery – which is why I only gave the book four stars rather than five. It really is an enjoyable read though with suspicions raised at the character’s true personalities. What secrets are lurking under the surface? White does an excellent job of uncovering each character’s personality, making them all well-rounded and individual with interesting traits which change your perception of them as you read more of the story.

As the book drew to an end, I was thoroughly gripped and struggled to put the book down. White has a lovely, fluid writing style that is easily accessible and engaging from beginning to end. A story that truly shows the power of love, friendship and secrets. I’d really recommend this book to anyone who’s a fan of chick-lit romance and mystery. A heartwarming book, that’s well worth a read.

If you want to get a copy, please do so from a local bookshop. If you are unable to purchase it from a bookshop or want an electronic version, you can do so from the following sites: Amazon UK, Waterstones or Barnes and Noble. If you enjoyed my review, please let me know by liking the post or writing a comment. Let me know what you thought of the book in the comments below if you read it!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

