Book Review: The Circle by K. M. Montemayor (✮✮✮✮✮)

the circle

The Circle by K.M. Montemayor

Title: The Circle

Author: K. M. Montemayor

Genre: Fantasy, romance, sci-fi, YA/adult fiction

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Pages: 281 pages

Publication Date: 13th January 2014

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,

I’m still currently reading The Night Circus and as I haven’t finished reading it yet, there’s no review. Sorry about that! But anyway, this was a phenomenal book which I read a couple of months ago and didn’t have a chance to share my review with you all. It’s definitely one which I think needs sharing though, so here’s my review of ‘The Circle’…

I received a free eBook copy of ‘The Circle’ via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Circle is a lovely story told from the perspective of Charlie, a Sentrian. He has been seen on a mission from his home planet to obtain information about Earthan life and as part of becoming involved with the “Earthans” he chooses to join the band. From this point, Charlie does something which goes against a fundamental rule of his kind… he becomes romantically involved with a sweaty Earthan girl. In doing so, all sorts of chaos and havoc erupt into Charlie and Lilly’s lives. The strict laws from Charlie’s home planet come crashing down in full force and Charlie finds his One.

I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the sequel! The story has a lovely written style and all of the characters were well rounded and you could easily empathise with their plight. Montemayor has a lovely written style which really brought the characters to life. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and it had just the right mixture of romance, intrigue and concern about the characters fate. I loved the sci-fi elements of the story and the brilliant characterisation, I could really feel myself becoming emotionally invested in the characters as the story progressed. The style and era of the decades which are used are great, I loved the quirky 50s style that Charlie wears through the 80s and how Lilly tries to combat his bad fashion sense. They’re a lovely nerdy couple who try and stick together through all their worlds throw at them.

On occasion, instead of speaking as a teenager may do, both Charlie and Lilly seem more adult, though this is in keeping with the intellect which Montemayor claims the two possess. At times when Charlie replies to some of Lilly’s questions he seems to begin a monologue style reply which didn’t really seem in keeping with his character, especially when for so much of the book he is intent on keeping his identity a secret. As soon as Charlie has revealed his identity, it seems as if it wasn’t that much of a big deal to Lilly and it took barely any time for her to come to terms with his true identity. Really these are just a bit finicky points but these were the only real issues I experienced with any part of the book!

This is a fantastic piece of writing and is definitely worth a read. Great appreciation to the author for sharing her lovely work! I can’t wait to read the sequel and really loved this work.

If you want to get a copy of the book, please try to get it from a local bookshop. Though if this isn’t a possibility, you can get the book from Amazon UK or Barnes and Noble – I can’t find the book on Waterstones so let me know if it’s uploaded! If you enjoyed my review, hit the like button please! Please comment if you too have read the book and let me know your thoughts!

Happy reading,
Anna xx

Leave a Reply

