Book Preview and Review: Maddy Kettle: The Adventure of the Thimblewitch by Eric Orchard (✮✮✮✮✮)

Maddy Kettle

Maddy Kettle: The Adventure of the Thimblewitch by Eric Orchard

Title: Maddy Kettle: The Adventure of the Thimblewitch

Author: Eric Orchard

Genre: Steampunk, humour, adventure, comic, graphic novel, children’s fiction

Publisher: Top Shelf Productions

Pages: 96 pages

Publication Date: 30th September 2014 

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,

I’m back with another review! This was a lovely children’s book which I throughly enjoyed reading and I can’t wait to read more by this author. It’s a great story with fantastic illustrations! I feel extremely lucky to have been able to read this before its publication. Here are my thoughts about the book:

I received a free copy of this book from the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book was great fun, it has some lovely cartoons which really add to the story. Orchard has created a great world for his characters and some fabulously imaginative characters they are too! Some of my favourite characters were the Cloud Whales and Silvio. It has a great storyline and a lovely protagonist which made it an enjoyable read. The characters in such wonderful illustrations just makes this a fun read with mystery, adventure and intrigue in each twist and turn of the story.

Originally my copy of the book was a bit jumbled, which made it difficult to read at times. The ending seemed to be the beginning and I’m not quite sure what happened at the end as a result. Thank you to the publishers for sending me a corrected version, it made the book much easier to understand and it was a brilliant read!

I enjoyed reading this book and I that that it’s a book which children are sure to enjoy too! A fun, different, almost steampunk style read which is sure to entertain.

If you want to grab a copy of the book for yourself, you can do so from Amazon UK HERE. If you do, let me know what you think about the book in the comments! Enjoyed the review? You know what to do! Hit that like button and follow if you want to read even more of my book reviews!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

