Book Preview/Review: Cooking Allergy Free: Inspired Meals for Everyone by Jenna Short (✮✮✮✮)

Cooking Allergy-Free by Jenna Short

Cooking Allergy-Free by Jenna Short

Title: Cooking Allergy Free: Inspired Meals for Everyone 

Author: Jenna Short

Genre: Cooking, allergies/allergy-free, non-fiction

Publisher: Taunton Press

Pages: 288 pages

Publication Date: 21st October 2014 

My Rating: 4/5

Hi there friends,

As an allergy sufferer, finding cookbooks which cater for my dietary requirements is always fantastic. Here’s what I thought about it…

I received a copy of this book by the book’s publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is a brilliant book filled with some great suggestions of alternatives for allergy-free cooking. Since being a child I have suffered from severe allergies to both eggs and nuts (and to a much milder extent, pears) which has always been a problem when learning how to cook and what I can cook for myself. There are some great recipes and foods which I didn’t know it was possible for me to be able to eat in the book which is really quite brilliant! I’ll be trying out some of these recipes at university and hopefully enjoying them immensely.

The classification system indicating which meals could be eaten for each allergy sufferer is brilliant. Though it would be brilliant if there were more dessert options for people who suffer from egg allergies, it was generally really good! One of the main drawbacks of my allergies are the amount of desserts which I am restricted from eating, this can be a problem with even the simplest of desserts such as ice cream. Having new desserts to test and enjoy is something I would love to be able to do. If there is a sequel with more recipes, it would be an amazing this if this was possible.

At university between my friends there are a whole host of dietary requirements between us: two gluten free diets, one lactose free and an egg and nut allergy sufferer. Finally there’s a cook book where we can find meals that we all can eat – a very hard thing to do normally!

I really liked the easy instructions, simplistic enough for even me to follow! There were some mouth-watering pictures of the food in there that really looked good enough to eat. I would love for the pictures of the food to be located next to the recipes as some don’t have pictures attached and I just like to see what the completed recipe should look like!

I think this is a wonderful book and I only wish there were more allergy-free cooking books in the world. Excellent!

If you would like to pre-order a copy, the book is available from the following online sources: Amazon UK, Waterstones and Barnes and Noble. Please also try to support your local bookshop as well! Remember to like this review if you enjoyed it and follow my blog to keep informed of my reviews!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

