Book Preview/Review: The Red Bicycle by Jude Isabella (✮✮✮✮✮)

the red bicycle

The Red Bicycle by Jude Isabella

Title: The Red Bicycle

Author: Jude Isabella

Genre: Moral, culture, children’s fiction

Publisher: Kids Can Press

Pages: 32 pages

Publication Date: 1st March 2015

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,

I was recommended by my lovely Mum to download this book and I can see exactly why! As a trainee teacher, this is just the type of book I want to have in my literary repertoire to introduce to children. Not only is it uplifting and make you appreciative for what we have but it also shows how giving things away can be much better than receiving.

This is a gorgeous book and shows how when we may no longer need something, instead of simply getting rid of it, it can be one of the most useful things to somebody else. When a boy has grown to big for his favourite red bicycle and doesn’t have any friends to give it to, a friendly lady has the perfect solution. He donates his bicycle to a country which is in desperate need for objects such as bicycles and helps to change the life of a young girl.

It’s a lovely heartwarming story which I can’t wait to share with others. It has some absolutely beautiful illustrations which are colourful and vibrant so will definitely draw younger readers into the book! The message the book sends about how something which no longer be useful to yourself but can be to someone else is brilliant. At the end of the book there are also some useful tips/advice for parents and teachers as well as a list of charities which work to help send objects such as bicycles to countries who need them. A brilliant resource and one I hope to use in school.

If you would like to get a copy of the book, please try to do so from your local bookshop. If you are unable to do so, the book is also available from the following places: Amazon UK and Barnes and Noble. Let me know what you think about the book in the comments if you read it too!

Happy reading,
Anna x

One thought on “Book Preview/Review: The Red Bicycle by Jude Isabella (✮✮✮✮✮)

  1. My grandchild-in-progress has a Guatemalan father, and I’m loving seeing all these books with people of color. When I was growing up all the people in kid’s books were white. I often wondered what it would be like to never read a book with people in it that looked like me. I don’t want my grandchild to feel that.

    Thanks for the great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

