Book Review: Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines by Katy Cannon (✮✮✮✮)

secrets, schemes and sewing machines

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines by Katy Cannon (✮✮✮✮)

Title: Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines

Author: Katy Cannon

Genre: Romance, women’s, chick-lit, fiction

Publisher: Little Tiger Group, Stripes Publishing

Pages: 368 pages

Publication Date: 2nd February 2015

My Rating: 4/5

Hi there friends,

I’m back with another review! Sorry I have had a hiatus in publishing my reviews but I have been on a teaching placement for the last few months which has certainly kept me busy to say the least. Hopefully I will be catching up on this site and publishing all of the book reviews I have written but not yet publisised in the next few days. Anyway, on to the review…

I recieved a free copy of the book by the book’s publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Before reading this book I had not read the book which preceeded this. Despite this, I enjoyed the book nonetheless.

This was a sweet and enjoyable read which has a romance which was well written. At the start of each chapter in the book, there are sewing patterns which I didn’t expect and found quite intriguing! Grace as a protagonist was really enjoyable and her character development throughout the book was great. Using a school production as the backdrop to the romance was always going to be good – though a little cliche.

I enjoyed reading the book but it felt a little cliche and I may have also missed out by not reading the first book so I may not have appreciated it as much as others. I loved the sewing projects and all in all it was an enjoyable read.

If you would like to read a copy of this book, you can get one from the following websites: Amazon UK, Barnes and Noble or Waterstones. If you read the book, let me know what you thought about it in the comments below! Don’t forget to hit that like button if you enjoyed my review.

Happy reading,
Anna (Books and Bookends) xx

Leave a Reply

