Book Review: The Bell Between Worlds by Ian Johnstone (✮✮✮✮✮)

The Bell Between Worlds

The Bell Between Worlds by Ian Johnstone (✮✮✮✮✮)

Title: The Bell Between Worlds

Author: Ian Johnstone

Genre: Fantasy, adventure, magic, children’s fiction

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Pages: 512 pages

Publication Date: 1st January 2015

My Rating: 5/5

Hi there friends,

I’m so excited to share this review as it’s been arguably the best book I’ve read so far this year! A definitely different children’s book which I’m sure will appeal to adults as well. I hope you enjoy reading my review and consider reading this book because I can’t recommend it to you enough! Anyway, let’s get on witht the review…

Sylas Tate never thought that a trip from Gabblety Row to post letters for his uncle could change everything he ever knew. A trip into the mysterious new shop, ‘The Shop of Things’ and meeting a certain Mr Zhi alters everything Sylas ever thought possible. A humongous bell chiming and a magical journey could make Sylas finally see that his true destiny is in another world…

This was an amazing read that entralled me from the first page and there’s not many books that do that! I quickly became immersed in Johnstone’s worlds and enchanting characters. Sylas’ plight is immersive and I rapidly felt myself being drawn to his unfair situation. The story is packed with well paced adventure, thrills, fantasy and excitement! A book that easily conjures images of the wonderful worlds Johnstone has created and their equally magical qualities.

This was a real page turner and I think this book will appeal equally to adults and children alike. If you enjoy reading books akin to the great fantasy writers such as J. K. Rowling, Terry Pratchett etc. you need look no further. The language used is exceptional and vividly brings the story to life.

I cannot recommend this book enough to you, and I’m sat here eagerly awaiting the second book in the series. I for one, cannot wait to see what is next for the young Sylas Tate…

If you would like to obtain a copy of this book, you can do so from a variety of sources. Here are a couple of places where you could get a copy of the book from: Amazon UK, Barnes and Noble or Waterstones. Please also remember to support your local bookseller as they depend on your support!

Let me know if you read the book what you think by sharing your views in the comments. If you have enjoyed reading my review, please like this post too! Thank you!

Happy reading,
Anna x

Leave a Reply

