Book Preview/Review: My Hometown by Russell Griesmer (✮✮✮✮)

my hometown

My Hometown by Russell Griesmer (✮✮✮✮)

Title: My Hometown

Author: Russell Griesmer

Genre: Picture book, historical, children’s fiction

Publisher: Capstone

Pages: 40 pages

Publication Date: 1st October 2015

My Rating: 4/5

Hi there friends,

 I have just recieved this marvellous picture book from NetGalley and couldn’t wait to read it and share my thoughts about it with you! I hope you enjoy my review!

I received a free copy of this book by the book’s publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is a gorgeous story filled with beautiful illustrations which perfectly encapsulates a town in America in two different eras. When a boy picks up a newspaper and begins to read it, he is transported to another era and their customs and key events. I think this would be a brilliant story for pupils to read in order to explain historic events and to show how things can change over time.

The illustrations are bright, colourful and interesting so will be sure to intrigue and spark children’s imagination. They could be used as brilliant prompts for imaginative story writing and to think about their own ‘Hometown’. A lovely read!

If you would like to obtain a copy of the book, you can do so from the following place: Amazon UK (unfortunately B&N and Waterstones aren’t currently selling this!). Please don’t restrict yourself to these choices as local bookshops are reliant upon your support!

Happy reading,
Anna 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

