Book Review: The Light that Gets Lost (✮✮)

the light that

The Light that Gets Lost by Natasha Carthew (✮✮)

Title: The Light that Gets Lost

Author: Natasha Carthew

Genre: Young adult, contemporary

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Pages: 320 pages

Publication Date: 5th November 2015

My Rating: 2/5

Hi everyone,

I’m very glad to announce that I have finally finished University! I’ll be graduating next month which is strange and amazing all at once. I once again have the time to read and review books, which I’m thrilled to being doing! I hope you enjoy my reviews and I will be sharing quite a few over the upcoming months. Here’s my review of a book which I’m afraid, didn’t live up to my expectations.

I received a free copy of this book by the book’s publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

When I picked up this book, I had high expectations. The blurb drew me in and I had read a couple of good reviews before deciding to give it a go for myself. I wanted this book to be brilliant so much, but it ended up being one of the most disappointing books I have read this year.

Trey is a teenager who has seen his parents killed. Now he has only one focus, revenge. His hunt for the man who killed is parents is on. His arrival at a mysterious camp with strange cliques and jobs might just lead him exactly where he needs to be…

It sounds good doesn’t it, unfortunately the book doesn’t live up to the hype. It was exceptionally slow to begin with and was pretty laborious reading until about 35% through. Whenever Trey is angry, he constantly refers to the Demon being inside him and driving his revenge but whether he is the Demon or if it is simply a metaphor, it is never explicitly stated. The story itself seems to jump about and many loose threads seem to just be left unresolved.

I felt very disappointed by this book because it has so much potential. The plot and entire concept was fantastic but its execution was far less so. Carthew’s writing style was far more descriptive, poetic and metaphoric than focused upon the plot, which some people may enjoy but it definitely wasn’t for me. The ending of the story felt like I had stopped reading this book and had picked up at the end of Lord of the Flies instead. A very frustrating read, which had far more potential and could have been something fantastic.

If you would like to obtain a copy of the book for yourself, you can do so from any of these websites: Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Waterstones. Please remember to support your local bookshops, indie book shops rely upon your trade and are wonderful places that we need to keep going!

I hope you enjoyed my review! Happy reading,
Anna (BooksandBookends) xxx

Leave a Reply

