Book Review: Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross (✮✮✮✮)

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross (✮✮✮✮)

Title: Five Wakes and a Wedding

Author: Karen Ross

Genre: Women’s, chicklit, romance, fiction

Publisher: Harper Impulse and Killer Reads (One More Chapter)

Pages: 368 pages

Publication Date: 22nd July 2019

My Rating: 4/5

 

Five Wakes And A Wedding

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.

Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.

When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.

Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s BridesmaidsFour Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

 

 

 

I can’t name another book which combines romance and death, let alone one that does it so well. This was such an unexpected revelation that I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

Nina works as an undertaker and is used to people giving her sad looks when she tells people. She’s been fired from her previous work in a well known funeral directors and is now braving it and trying to open her very own business in London – Happy Endings. Little does Nina realise that Primrose Hill is dead set (hehe) against having a funeral parlour open on its high street and her neighbours are about to make her life and new business increasingly difficult…

I really enjoyed Karen Ross’ writing style in this book. The book remains light hearted and funny despite discussing heavy topics at times.

Nina is an fun, relatable character determined to do her best despite the majority of her neighbourhood being desperate for her to fail. She’s too trusting of others at times but is likeable throughout. Barclay is hilarious too with fantastic one-liners and a carefree and adventurous look towards life. All of the characters are well written and feel realistic.

The main reason I didn’t give the book five stars was the pacing of the story. At times I had to flick backwards to check I hadn’t missed something because it flitted from one thing to the next too quickly. It’s very fast paced and could have benefitted from slowing down at some points to fully appreciate the story and make it flow better. Having said that, it’s the only issue I had with the book and I still really enjoyed it.

I’d definitely recommend this if you’re looking for a fun chick-lit with a completely different and unique premise.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

US – https://www.amazon.com/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

Author Bio –

As a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction.   Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads:  the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur.  By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stock market, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

 

 

Social Media Links –

Twitter @ComedyKaren

https://karenross.online/

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for providing the content of this post and organising the cover reveal it is part of.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s