Book Review: Swipe Right by Stephie Chapman

Title: Swipe Right

Author: Stephie Chapman

Genre: Contemporary,  romance, women’s fiction

Publisher: Hera Books

Pages: Unknown – I’d guess roughly around 300.

Publication Date: 13th May 2020

My Rating: 3/5

Book Description:

Love could be a click away… Or in the last place you expected.

When Fran meets Ollie, it’s eye roll at first sight. Who does he think he is – with his Ray-Bans, piss taking and artfully styled hair? Forced into working together at Viral Hive, the trendy media content agency, at first they butt heads, but soon realise that they could be BFFs. Fran’s happily settled with boyfriend Lucas, while Ollie is fully committed to girlfriend Lou.

But when Fran’s relationship crumbles, and Ollie sets off with Lou for a round-the-world trip, she decides to start an anonymous dating column, detailing all the perils of dating online – from the bloke who angrily demanded she share the bill when she refused his clumsy advances, to the one that ended their date by weeping into her cleavage – even if it seems that all the good (or even normal?) men are hiding. Maybe there aren’t plenty more fish in the sea?

But, on her dating journey of discovery, Fran’s about to learn that sometimes love can be where you least expect it… you just have to put down your phone.

This hilarious romantic comedy is When Harry Met Sally for the Tinder age – will make you laugh and cry! Perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane, Lucy Vine and Sophie Ranald.

This was an enjoyable easy read with a great concept.  Ollie and Fran have a job interview for the same position at Viral Hub. Viral Hub is the book’s equivalent to BuzzFeed and they’re both brilliant candidates. When the company can’t decide who gets the job, they create a role so they both can work for them. They seem to be a perfect match for one another and everyone can see it apart from them.

Fran ends up going on some hilarious dates and some that were downright crazy! It was for the most part enjoyable but felt a little bit frenetic how quickly Fran was moving through blokes on Tinder. It was a great plot but I was genuinely concerned for her safety and what was going to happen to her next! I was worried Ollie was going to have to come and save her at one point…
I could definitely see this as a modern day version of ‘When Harry Met Sally’. It’s an easy read with a good plot. I just wish there had been a bit more romance to the story and a better ending. It felt like the story was building up and went out with a fizzle rather than a bang.
I feel like I’ve been reading a lot of romance lately and that might be why I chose to give this book 3 stars rather than 4. There is nothing wrong with the book, I just judged it on how I was feeling. I’ve been reading a lot of romance lately.
Author Bio:
Stephie was born in England in the mid 1980s, which makes her thirty-something (but if you ask, she’ll probably tell you she’s 27). Now, she lives on the South coast of the UK, has a day job to keep her holiday budget topped up, and two kids and a husband to keep an eye on.

Get in touch on Twitter @imcountingufoz

stephiechapman.co.uk

Follow the rest of the blog tour:

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Swipe Right by Stephie Chapman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s