#BookReview: Under the Siena Sun by T. A. Williams


Under a Siena Sun

 

 

 

Lucy needed a change of scene. She didn’t expect the change of a lifetime.

Doctors Without Borders has been Lucy Young’s life for the past four years. After being rescued from a conflict zone, she’s making a change from saving lives under gunfire to practising medicine in safe, serene Siena.

Now treating wealthy patients at a private clinic, she’s never felt less comfortable. She’s used to helping those in dire need – not those in need of a nip and tuck. Her turmoil grows when she encounters injured tennis star David Lorenzo, whose smiles make Lucy forget her aversion to the rich.

She’s soon falling for the sportsman but is she losing herself in this world of excess? All she’s ever wanted was to help the underprivileged, so can her future lie in Siena at the clinic – with David?

This sunny romance is the perfect summer escape for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

 

 

 

The start of this story is unlike any other T. A. Williams book, with Lucy Young dramatically being rescued from the middle of a conflict in the Congo. Working a doctor for Doctors Without Borders, she wants to help others and has decided it’s time to do so somewhere less dangerous. After some well needed time away following her harrowing experience, she visits her family, attends a wedding, and finds a job working in a private clinic in Italy. She has no idea how Italy will change her life.

This was so unlike any other of T.A. Williams’ books, I was shocked by the opening. I’m used to his gorgeous cozy romances in Italy and definitely nothing quite as harrowing as the opening to this. However, now I think he could be exploring genres and I would definitely be interested in reading a thriller written by him!

Fortunately, the book doesn’t stay quite as harrowing as the opening. It has all of my favourite quintessential hallmarks of Trevor’s books: a black labrador, a stunning setting, a couple I’m rooting for, and descriptions of food that sound so delicious that I am literally salivating whilst reading.

I loved that the female protagonist is intelligent and knows her own value. She sounds like a perfect doctor with limitless compassion and care that she puts into her work. When treating injured superstar tennis player she is professional and considerate, despite him being grouchy and irritable.

The romance in this story wasn’t obvious and I didn’t have a clue who Lucy was going to end up with! I felt as though I was just as invested in the side characters as some of the main ones. I was very happy with who she did end up with in the end. They made a great couple and could help one another grow.

A gorgeous story that matches the beautiful scenery it’s set within. If you’re looking for a light summer read to whisk you away, you don’t need to look any further.

Purchase Links

http://mybook.to/SienaSun

https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/under-a-siena-sun

Author Bio –

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links –

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/

Happy reading,

2 thoughts on “#BookReview: Under the Siena Sun by T. A. Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s