#BookReview: Hopeful Hearts at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters

Hopeful Hearts At Glendale Hall

 

 

 

What happens when love takes you to unexpected places?

Heather Douglas appears to have it all. But living on a farm in the Scottish Highlands with her partner, Rory Fraser, all while bringing up their adorable toddler, Harry, isn’t easy. As a former librarian, Heather is worried that she’ll never fully fit into life on Fraser Farm. And after the death of her beloved mum five years ago, Heather feels lost, as well as guilty for holding back accepting Rory’s marriage proposal because she can’t imagine her wedding without her mother.

So when ex-boyfriend, Stewart, appears in the village of Glendale, it’s a shock to the system. The man who broke her heart years ago now has big plans for the neighbouring farm and wants Heather to be part of the development. Knowing that she’s living a very different life to the one they had planned at university leaves Heather wondering if she has made the right choices since she and Stewart broke up. Especially when things start to go very wrong on the farm …

This Christmas, Heather will need to face her fears and let go of the past or risk losing everything. She will need love, faith, and a whole lot of hope!

Return to the beautiful Highlands village of Glendale with the latest book in the bestselling Glendale series – the perfect cosy, uplifting, romantic read for fans of Heidi Swain, Milly Johnson and Holly Martin.

 

 

 

If you’re looking for a cosy read with a great community at its heart, you don’t need to look any further. With the idyllic setting of Glendale, a village in the Scottish Highlands in winter, it doesn’t get more festive than this.

The book is the third in a series but I think it would work as a standalone. I personally haven’t read the first in the series but thoroughly enjoyed the second so much that I had to read this, too.

Heather Douglas has left her job working in the local library to devote her time to raising her son and looking after the farm with her partner, Rory. The last thing she expected was for her ex-boyfriend to reappear when her life feels so unsettled. Not sure she’s good enough as a farmer, mother or partner, Heather has a lot of anxiety that she isn’t sharing with those closest to her. When Stewart turns up trying to purchase the neighbouring farm, she isn’t sure what she should do.

Initially, I didn’t like the protagonist in the story and it took me a while to feel that she wasn’t trying to hurt those closest to her. When her ex tries getting back with her she does nothing to stop his advances, despite being in a relationship. That was one of the few things I really didn’t like in the story.

Instead, I realised it was her anxiety preventing her from making the choices she needed to. There’s a huge amount of character growth in Heather as she sees her farm being targetted, she rises to the challenge and spreads positivity.

A thoroughly enjoyable read and I hope there are more books in this series!

Purchase Links

Amazon https://amzn.to/2Y6P1dt

Apple https://apple.co/3emKwBn   

Kobo https://bit.ly/37AMc7D

Author Bio –

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of three novels, THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE, SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFÉ, and COMING HOME TO GLENDALE HALL. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

Follow the rest of the blog tour:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s