#BookReview: The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

55880434Title: The Echo Wife

Author: Sarah Gailey

Genre: Fantasy, sci-fi, thriller, adult, fiction

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Pages: 256

Publication Date: 16th February 2021

My Rating: 4/5

Hi everyone,

Here’s my review of the amazing new book, The Echo Wife. This was such a different and unusual read, I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all!

 

 

 

A dark and suspenseful novel of lies, betrayal, and identity – perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Charlie Brooker’s Black Mirror.

It was meant to be an evening to honour and celebrate Evelyn Caldwell’s award-winning, career-making scientific research – but Evelyn has things on her mind.

Things like Nathan, her husband, who has left her for a younger, better, newer woman. A woman who is now pregnant – but shouldn’t be – and is strikingly familiar. Too familiar to be a coincidence.

A woman who shouldn’t exist.

The Echo Wife is a propulsive new novel from an international rising star about identity, murder, and the choices society forces women to make.

 

 

 

Evelyn’s life is focussed on her career in scientific research. She’s working on a project on cloning and her work is groundbreaking. The last thing she imagines is for her husband to have been working on a project behind her back and cheating on her. Especially when his new partner is a perfect clone of herself…

The Echo Wife is an intelligent story that has you questioning yourself throughout. Everybody has a flaw that makes it so they aren’t perfect, right? Well, cloning someone and being able to fine-tune their looks and personality can make them absolutely perfect for them. It raises ethical questions about cloning, feelings and murder. This book surprised me in so many ways and it could have gone in so many directions!

I don’t know anything about Big Little Lies or Black Mirror so I went into this novel without any preconceptions. I would definitely recommend doing this too as it was such a surprise and wasn’t as “sci-fi” as I expected. If you aren’t the biggest fan of sci-fi but love engaging domestic suspense, then this is for you!

The writing style is superb. It was refreshing to read a story from one perspective, especially a perspective as ambitious and driven as Evelyn’s. Despite appearing as though she didn’t care about some things, I could feel myself empathising with her and hooked on her plight.

A compelling read that you won’t want to put down.

Thank you to the book’s publisher for sending me an ARC to read and review!

Purchase link: Amazon UK

Happy reading,

One thought on “#BookReview: The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s